Tanzania and Zanzibar

Mount Kilimanjaro

55 Million People

Archaeological Remains

30,000 Animals

Tanzania has one of the richest histories and cultures of all Africa. Archaeological remains have been discovered at a variety of sites that date back to the earliest traces of human life, more than three million years ago.

Sprawling across 943,000 square kilometres, Tanzania is the largest country of those that make up East Africa. Tanzania encompasses the three offshore islands of Zanzibar, Pemba, and Mafia. Together there is a population of more than 55 million people, with roughly 70 percent of those living within rural areas of the country, while large portions of the land is left uninhabited.

Dodoma is the capital city of Tanzania and this has a population of around 2.1 million people. Previously, Dar es Salaam was the capital and today this is a main hub for the country with a major seaport and air gateway.

View our packages

The game reserves of Tanzania

Some of the most renowned game reserves, national parks and wonders of the world and Africa, exist in Tanzania. The most notable of these include Mount Kilimanjaro, the Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Selous Game Reserve, Ruaha National Park, Tarangire National Park, and Zanzibar Island. The dormant volcano of Mount Kilimanjaro, standing 5,895 metres above sea level, is noted as the highest point in Africa.

The unique and varied landscapes of the country include grasslands, wetlands, dense forest, and tropical beaches. The majority of the land is wild and uninhabited by humans, including the stretching plains of the Serengeti National Park, which is home to the highest concentration of game in Africa. 

The Ngorongoro Crater is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and this holds the title of the world’s largest unbroken caldera. A spectacular combination of more than 30,000 animals live in this region of geographical beauty. Wildlife within Tanzania is some of the most abundant and fascinating and the country is known for its large population of elephants, large cats, bird species, and other migratory animals.


Zanzibar is a group of islands that are located on the Swahili Coast. The group is made up of many small islands and two main islands, which include Unguja Island, commonly referred to as Zanzibar, and Pemba Island.

Zanzibar is a fascinating multicultural hub with strong influences of Persian, Indian, European, and African culture. Through centuries of history, Zanzibar has been one of the most visited and significant trading centres in East Africa. It continues to be a destination that is travelled to by visitors from around the globe.

The capital city of Zanzibar is Zanzibar City, also referred to as Zanzibar Stone Town. Declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2000, the Stone Town consists of historic and beautiful buildings made from coral stone. Visitors will find lively bazaars, mosques, and shops here, with many traders selling cinnamon, black pepper, cloves, and nutmeg, resulting in the islands being known as the spice islands.

The history of Tanzania

Tanzania’s mainland was previously known as Tanganyika and the country has an extensive political history. The country was colonised by Germans during the early 19th century, forming German East Africa. Following the First World War, the region fell under British rule and subsequently, Tanganyika gained independence in 1961. In 1964, Zanzibar Island merged with Tanganyika to collectively form Tanzania.

Today more than 100 languages are spoken by over 120 different tribal groups. Swahili remains the national language, with English being the second most prominently spoken language.